April 26, 2017




McPherson County is located in the north eastern part of South Dakota. The county is surrounded by Brown County (East), Dickey & McIntosh Counties ND (North), Edmunds County (South), and Campbell County (West). The county is made up mainly of farmland and small communities. The total population (as of the 2013 census) was 2,457. The total size of McPherson County is 1,152 square miles. Leola is the county seat which sits at the intersection of Highways 10 and 45, with a population of 451 (2013 census). Eureka is the largest city with a population of 864 (2013 census), and it sits at Highways 10 and 47. McPherson County was founded in 1873 and was named after a civil war general by the name of James B. McPherson.