April 26, 2017


General Election Results

General Election Date: November 8,2016

Absentee Voting For General Election Starting: September 23, 2016

Deadline to Register to Vote in General: October 24, 2016 

Voter Registration Form (PDF)

If you are unable to attend your polling place in person on Election Day, you may be eligible to vote by absentee ballot. To vote by absentee ballot, a voter must request an absentee ballot from your County Election Official by submitting an Absentee Ballot Application. The County Election Official will then send a paper absentee ballot to the voter. The voter then completes the ballot and returns it to the County Election Official. A voter may also be able to come to the Auditor’s office in the courthouse as soon as absentee voting begins, and vote right then and there in the Auditor’s office.

In South Dakota, the County Election Official must receive your application for absentee ballot no later than 5:00 p.m. the day before the election. Make sure you are registered before you apply to vote by absentee ballot. You can confirm your registration by visiting the Voter Information Portal

 How to Request an Absentee Ballot:

To obtain an AbsenteeBallotApplication (PDF)

•Ensure you are registered to vote. If you are unsure, confirm your registration Here

•Download and print an AbsenteeBallotApplication (PDF) and send it to your County Election Official.

In the event of confinement because of sickness or disability, a qualified voter may apply in writing and obtain an absentee ballot by authorized messenger. An authorized messenger delivers the ballot from the County Election Official to the qualified voter and then delivers the marked ballot to the County Election Official. Any application for a ballot by authorized messenger must be received by the person in charge of the election before 3:00 p.m. the day of the election.

Election Precincts and where to vote on Election Day:

Precinct 1: Northeast: Leola Courthouse

Precinct 2: Southeast: Leola Courthouse

Precinct 3: 101: Long Lake Fire Hall

Precinct 4: Central: Eureka Fire Hall

Precinct 5: Northwest: Eureka Fire Hall

Precinct 6: Southwest: Eureka Fire Hall

Election Precints 1


School Districts 1