McPherson County Zoning Board April 7, 2022 9:00 A.M. Meeting Minutes

The McPherson County Zoning Board meeting was called to order by Chairman Jeff Neuharth at 9:05 A.M. in the Commissioner's Chambers. Members present were Richard Kolb, George Hulscher, Alvin Kallas and Dan Mettler. Others present were Austin Hoffman, State's Attorney and Brooke Graves, Zoning Administrator.

Dan Mettler made a motion for the agenda approval with a second by George Hulscher. Motion passed. Dan Mettler made a motion to approve the March 8, 2022 meeting minutes as published and seconded by Alvin Kallas. Motion passed.

No conflicts of interest were mentioned.

Jeff Neuharth said that the commissioners were in support of the proposed moratorium on battery energy storage and voted yes at the April 5th commissioners meeting.

Brief discussion took place on airports. The board will wait until next meeting to make a decision on airports.

Some discussion took place on solar energy. Specifics included glare, eminent domain and decommissioning of a solar farm. Permits will be good for one year. If eminent domain is used, still have to follow the local zoning setbacks. With glare, trees could be required for a special conditional use permit.

Building permits 22-01 through 22-05 were discussed. Building permits were for Sid Feickert – garage addition, Nick Kallas – finish basement, James Fischer – bathroom remodel, Jack Waltman – bathroom remodel, and Glenn Beutler – grain bin and tower dryer.

Discussion took place on pipelines. Setbacks and definitions were discussed. Board recommendations include 1 mile from any residence, setback from a property line from non-participating at 1,000 ft., setback from a pump station at 1,000 ft. from the center of the right of way, 6 ft. depth from top of pipe, 8 ft. depth from top of pipe from improved right of way, and 8 ft. from lowest point in the ditch.

Their will be no May zoning board meeting. The June date will be determined at a later date. George Hulscher made a motion to adjourn the meeting with a second by Alvin Kallas. Motion passed. Meeting adjourned at 11:00 A.M.

Brooke Graves
Zoning Administrator

<u>Jeff Neuharth</u> Chairman of the Zoning Board

