## McPherson County Board of Commissioners Minutes of Proceedings January 11<sup>th</sup>, 2022

The McPherson County Board of Commissioners met telephonically in special session on Tuesday, January 11<sup>th</sup>, 2022. The call could be heard in the Commissioners chambers. Chairman Anthony Kunz called the meeting to order at 2PM. Members present were Rick Beilke, Delmar Metzger, Sid Feickert, and Jeff Neuharth.

Feickert moved and Metzger seconded to approve the agenda of the January 11<sup>th</sup> meeting. All voted in favor. Motion carried. No conflicts were declared.

Neuharth moved and Feickert seconded to place a moratorium on hazardous liquid transmission pipelines as defined in Title 49 CFR Section 192.3 and Title 49 CFR 195.2 and Title 49 CFR 193.2007; this moratorium shall remain in place until a revised McPherson County zoning ordinance can be approved and take effect. Upon roll call vote: Beilke, Feickert, Kunz, Neuharth and Metzger voted Aye. Motion carried.

Neuharth moved and Beilke seconded that a letter be sent to the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission including the moratorium action taken by McPherson County. Upon roll call vote: Beilke, Feickert, Kunz, Neuharth and Metzger voted Aye. Motion carried.

The letter sent to the Public Utilities Commission Chairman Chris Nelson, Commission Vice Chairperson Kristie Fiegen and Commissioner Gary Hanson on January 11<sup>th</sup>, 2022 reads as follows:

## To Whom It May Concern:

Over the last several months, many residents of McPherson County have expressed concerns regarding the Summit Carbon Solutions CO2 pipeline (hereinafter referred to as the "Pipeline"). The Pipeline's proposed route runs directly through McPherson County. Nearly all the concerns surrounding the Pipeline were regarding both the short term and long-term safety of the project and the possible health risks thereby associated.

On January 4<sup>th</sup>, 2022, the McPherson County Board of Commissioners held an open forum for residents to express their concerns. At the conclusion of listening to the input, the McPherson County Board of Commissioners voted in support of the McPherson County Planning and Zoning Board to pass a moratorium on new pipelines being built in McPherson County.

On January 11<sup>th</sup>, 2022, the McPherson County Planning and Zoning Board passed a moratorium on any new pipelines being built in McPherson County that carry hazardous materials. On the same day, the McPherson County Board of Commissioners voted in approval of the moratorium. The moratorium is included below.

Neuharth moved and Feickert seconded to place a moratorium on hazardous liquid transmission pipelines as defined in Title 49 CFR Section 192.3 and Title 49 CFR 195.2 and Title 49 CFR 193.2007; this

moratorium shall remain in place until a revised McPherson County zoning ordinance can be approved and take effect. Upon roll call vote: Beilke, Feickert, Kunz, Neuharth and Metzger voted Aye. Motion carried.

We would ask that the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission take residents, as well as local government's concern regarding the Pipeline into account when making any decisions dealing with the Pipeline. Thank you.

Respectfully submitted by the McPherson County Commissioners, Anthony Kunz, McPherson County Commission Chairman Rick Beilke, McPherson County Commission Vice Chairman Sid Feickert, McPherson County Commissioner Delmar Metzger, McPherson County Commissioner Jeff Neuharth, McPherson County Commissioner

At 2:10PM Feickert moved and Beilke seconded to ajourn the meeting. Upon roll call vote: Beilke, Feickert, Kunz, Neuharth and Metzger voted Aye. Motion carried. The next regular commissioners meeting is scheduled for February 1<sup>st</sup>, 2022 beginning at 10AM.

ATTEST:
Lindley Howard

McPherson County Auditor

Anthony Kunz

Chairman of the Board of Commissioners