## McPherson County Board of Commissioners Minutes of Proceedings

May 29<sup>th</sup>, 2018

The McPherson County Board of Commissioners met in special session via teleconference on Tuesday, May 29<sup>th</sup>, 2018. Teleconference was held in the Commissioners chambers. Chairman Feickert called the meeting to order at 8:30AM. Members present were Rick Beilke, Jeff Neuharth, and Anthony Kunz. Also, present: Dave Ackerman.

## **RESOLUTIONS:**

## **RESOLUTION 18-6**

## "MCPHERSON COUNTY DISASTER DECLARTION RESOLUTION"

WHEREAS, McPherson County, South Dakota on May 17, 2018 through May 18,2018 suffered severe storm damage caused by excessive rain fall and damaging hail and winds, and

WHEREAS, the McPherson County roadway system has been impacted by flooding, erosion culvert compromise in addition to public and private structure damage as well as home flooding and sewage back-up, and

WHEREAS, McPherson County, City of Eureka, and the City of Long Lake have experienced damage to critical infrastructure and

NOW IT BE RESOLVED THAT the McPherson County Commissioners do hereby declare a disaster for the population of the area impacted.

The McPherson County Commission respectfully request and any and all assistance that may be available from State and Federal agencies be provided to all local governments to include McPherson County and to the local businesses and the general population as we work to overcome this disaster.

BE IT ALSO RESOLVED THAT the McPherson County Commissioners do hereby declare a Spring Severe Storm with significant Rain, Hail, and Flooding event disaster and respectfully request the Governor of the State of South Dakota to declare a disaster area and to request a Presidential Declaration of Disaster to ensure that the maximum amount of assistance is made available to local governments, businesses and residents affected.

Dated this 29<sup>th</sup> day of May, 2018 at Leola, SD

ATTEST:

Jennifer Guthmiller McPherson County Auditor Sid Feickert Chairman of the Board of Commissioners

Neuharth moved for the adoption of Resolution Number 18-6, Beilke seconded the foregoing motion. All voted in favor. Motion carried and Resolution Number 18-6 was declared duly adopted.

Kunz moved and Neuharth seconded to enter into executive session at 8:33AM. All voted in favor. Motion carried. At 8:37 Kunz moved and Neuharth seconded to exit executive session. No action was taken.

At 8:37AM Beilke moved and Kunz seconded to adjourn the meeting. All voted in favor. Motion carried.

ATTEST:

Jennifer Guthmiller McPherson County Auditor

Sid Feickert Chairman of Board of Commissioners