RESOLUTION 20-5 "DESIGNATING PRECINCTS AND POLLING PLACES FOR THE JUNE 2, 2020 PRIMARY ELECTION"

WHEREAS South Dakota Codified Law §12-14-1 provides that a board of county commissioners shall by resolution provide for election precincts throughout its county and shall designate polling places within such precincts; and

WHEREAS, McPherson County, South Dakota, presently has the following precincts and polling places:

Precinct <u>Number</u>	<u>Cities/Townships</u>	Legislative <u>District</u>	Polling <u>Place</u>
#1	City of Leola – Ward 1, Spring Twp, Koto Twp, Weber Twp, Wachter Twp., Willow Twp – Sections 1-30, 32-36 Leola Twp – Sections 1-18	23	McPherson County Courthouse 706 Main Street Leola, SD 57456
#2	City of Leola – Ward 2, Ward 3 Willow Twp Section 31, Howard Twp Lincoln Twp, Wetonka Town, Washington Twp Leola Twp – Sections 19-36	23	McPherson County Courthouse 706 Main Street Leola, SD 57456
#3	Long Lake Town, Harrison Twp Wacker Twp, Highland Twp Hoffman Twp	23	Long Lake Fire Hall 101 Bacon Ave Long Lake, SD 57457
#4	Eureka City – Ward 3 Bergdorf Twp Sections 19-36, Long Lake Twp Stickel Twp, Kassel Twp, Moscow Twp, Arena Twp	23	Eureka Fire Hall 518 F Ave Eureka, SD 57437
#5	Eureka City – Ward 1, Odessa Twp, Bergdorf - Sections 1-18, Petersburg Twp, Detmold Twp, Rosenthal Twp, Spring Creek Twp Glucksthal Twp – Sections 1-33, 35, 36 Bauer Twp – Section 1	23	Eureka Fire Hall 518 F Ave Eureka, SD 57437
#6 Jacksoi	Eureka City – Ward 2, Bauer Twp – Sections 2-36 n Twp, Hillsview Town, Hillsview Twp, Cleveland Twp, Blaine Twp, Dewey Twp	23	Eureka Fire Hall 518 F Ave Eureka, SD 57437

WHEREAS, South Dakota Codified Law §12-14-9 provides that polling places shall be selected with reference to the convenience of the voters in the various election precincts, and should be as near the center of the election precincts as practicable, but if in the judgment of the board of county commissioners the convenience of the voters will be served thereby or if communication can be thereby made available, the polling place may be located outside the boundaries of the precinct; and

WHEREAS, an outbreak of a severe respiratory disease, COVID-19, which is caused by and is transmitted by the person-to-person spread of the novel coronavirus, started in late 2019 and has currently been detected in more than 100 countries, including the United States; and

WHEREAS, the World Health Organization has designated COVID-19 a pandemic, and the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has declared a public health emergency; and

WHEREAS, Governor Kristi Noem, through Executive Order 2020-04, declared South Dakota to be in a State of Emergency due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and re-authorized said declaration and extended the State of Emergency through Executive Order 2020-15; and

WHEREAS, Governor Kristi Noem, through Executive Order 2020-12, ordered and directed certain precautionary actions to be undertaken by counties and municipalities to mitigate the spread of the COVID-19, including the implementation of CDC hygiene practices, restricting public gatherings of ten people or more, and protecting critical infrastructure; and

WHEREAS, Governor Kristi Noem anticipates that both the COVID-19 pandemic and State of Emergency will last for a period of four or more months, during which time a statewide primary election has been scheduled for June 2, 2020; and

WHEREAS, in an effort reduce the potential for transmitting COVID-19 throughout the state during the election primary, the South Dakota Secretary of State's Office has contacted all eligible voters about considering the use of absentee balloting rather than in-person voting on June 2, 2020; and

WHEREAS, it is reasonably anticipated that the actions taken by the South Dakota Secretary of State will result in more eligible voters using absentee balloting than has otherwise previously occurred throughout the state to date, including an anticipated increase in absentee voting by eligible McPherson County voters; and

WHEREAS, while the McPherson County Board of Commissioners support the executive orders of Governor Noem, and the actions taken by the South Dakota Secretary of State, the McPherson County Commission also acknowledges the need to protect the suffrage rights of all eligible McPherson County voters to participate in the June 2, 2020, primary election through in-person voting at established precinct polling locations; and

WHEREAS, the McPherson County Board of Commissioners believe that CDC hygiene practices, public gathering restrictions, and such other orders and commands contained within Governors Noem's Executive Orders necessitate that the polling places made available for in-person voting in McPherson County on June 2, 2020, be appropriately staffed, carefully monitored, thoroughly sanitized, meet the handicap accessibility requirements of the Help America Vote Act, and meet such other accessibility requirements as established by state and federal law; and

WHEREAS, it is the belief of the McPherson County Board of Commissioners, following a review of all of the above-indicated requirements, the assessment of county resources, and the investigation of suitable public gathering sites, that the precincts of McPherson County be assigned to two consolidated polling places in-person voting during the June 2, 2020, primary election; and

WHEREAS, it is the opinion of the McPherson County Board of Commissioners that the McPherson County Courthouse and the Eureka Fire Hall are the most suitable polling locations for in-person voting during the June 2, 2020, primary election.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED by the McPherson County Board of Commissioners that the polling location for Precinct #3 as described above be moved to the Eureka Fire Hall for the June 2, 2020, primary election.

Dated this 6th day of May, 2020.

ATTEST: <u>Lindley Howard</u> McPherson County Auditor

<u>Jeff Neuharth</u> McPherson County Commission Chairman

Feickert moved for the adoption of Resolution Number 20-5, Beilke seconded the foregoing motion. All voted in favor. Motion carried and Resolution Number 20-5 was declared duly adopted.